Although its roots go back as far as World War II and the Seattle "Auxiliary" Fire
Last Resort Fire Department officially began in 1969 when a handful
of dedicated individuals banded together to form what is now the largest collection
of antique motorized fire apparatus in the Pacific Northwest.
The Last Resort Fire Department Museum officially opened its doors at its current location in the watch office and on the apparatus floor of "old Station 10" of the Seattle Fire Department on July 12, 2008 in conjunction with the Pioneer Square Fire Festival.
The Museum, a non-profit, charitable corporation, is dedicated to the acquisition, restoration, preservation and display of classic antique motorized fire apparatus. The rigs can be seen in parades, car and truck shows, fire station dedications, fire prevention exhibits and the annual Fire Festival in Pioneer Square. Fundraising activities include fire prevention displays, weddings, prom rides, office parties, retirement parties, Santa Claus arrivals, static displays and other community events.
The Museum's primary mission has always been the preservation of Seattle Fire Department history. The collection consists primarily of retired Seattle Fire Department apparatus and equipment. We also maintain hundreds of historic photographs, alarm equipment, station furnishings, nozzles, extinguishers, helmets, and several items unique to the S.F.D. A portion of the collection of apparatus and artifacts are on display at the main Museum at Seattle Fire Department Headquarters in Pioneer Square. Because the Museum has outgrown its location, additional exhibits are housed at their maintenance facility and various locations in the Seattle area.
Its collection is comprised of several unique fire apparatus from the SFD. Included are Seattle's only Ahrens-Fox, which was fully restored in the mid-1960's, and three of Seattle's tillered aerials - their last wooden aerial - a 1929 Mack, their first metal aerial - a 1937 Seagrave, and their last "conventional-cab" tillered aerial - a 1969 Kenworth/Maxim. The collection also includes the SFD's last city-service ladder truck - a 1950 Kenworth, and what may be the oldest surviving motorized fire apparatus from the SFD - a 1913 Seagrave City Service Ladder. The SFD's only Bulldog Mack is included in the collection, although it has yet to be restored (as of the time of our visit).
The Museum works closely with the Seattle Fire Department, providing apparatus for fire prevention activities, fire station dedications and open houses, as well as recruit graduation ceremonies. In addition, upon request, transports their horse-drawn and motorized steamers to parades and displays.
Summer hours: Wed & Thur - 11am to 3pm
Winter hours: Wed only - 11am to 3pm
Last Resort Fire Department Museum
301 2nd Ave South
(at S. Main St) in Pioneer Square