Greenwood, Arkansas was founded in 1851 when its location was selected for the
first county seat
of Sebastian County. The town was named for Judge Alfred Burton
Greenwood, who had been elected the previous year to serve as Circuit Judge over
ten Northwest Arkansas counties. The first court house was a log structure, replaced
in 1865 by a frame court house which was built in the center of the public square.
This courthouse later burned and in 1916 the courthouse was relocated south of the
square. Since that time the square has become a city park and the site of many
festivals, city picnics and celebrations.
The growth of Greenwood was comparatively slow, but by the breaking out of the Civil War it had attained some importance as a business center and by 1889 its business directory listed General Merchandise, Drugs, Groceries, Cotton Gin, Grist and Saw Mill, 3 Hotels, 3 Blacksmith and wood shops, 3 physicians, 1 dentist and 7 attorneys.
Greenwood has withstood many economic changes and setbacks but perhaps its strongest test came when a devastating tornado swept through the community in April of 1968. There were 13 people killed and countless businesses and homes destroyed.
One of the town's most famous sites, "Town Square" is a park located in the center of town. The park stands as a reminder of the past and a center for town activities.
The clock and bell tower that stands in the middle of town square was designed and built in 1976 in recognition of our Nation's 200th birthday. The clock and bell was once in the courthouse bell tower that was destroyed by the tornado.
The square was the site for the Sebastian County Court House until 1916 when a new one was built across the street on the south side. The Greenwood Chamber of Commerce's annual Freedomfest on July 4th takes place in the park as well as many other community gatherings.
The Redwine Pioneer School, pictured below, is a replica of a typical, turn of the century, one room school. It is authentically furnished with many original items that were used by teachers L.M. and Delma Redwine, for whom the school was named. The building was moved to the Historical District from the W.D. Redwine Farm on North Main Street in 2001.
The "Ole Barn" is an old vintage 1940's barn full of displays of old tools and farm implements. The barn is located in the Historical District downtown.