Frisco City is a town in Monroe County, Alabama. At the 2000 census the population was
Prior to being named Frisco City, the town was known as Jones Mill in honor of Reverend James W. Jones. The name was changed to Frisco City in 1928 to celebrate the arrival of the Frisco Railroad.
Mr. and Mrs. Jones built the first dwelling at the location of present-day Frisco City in 1889. The lumber used to build the house was hauled by wagon from nearby Brewton, Alabama.
The old two-story Victorian farm house is located in the Frisco City Park along with the Jones Mill Post Office, jail and old railway caboose. The property for the Town Park was donated by J.W. Jones in 1913.
After the house was finished, Mr. Jones started a sawmill, a cotton gin, and a grist mill. The community grew and Jones Mill was incorporated in 1909.
The small one-room jail, built 1899-1909, is believed to be Jones Mill's first jail. The jail was moved to the Town Park in 1989 from its original location approximately one half mile north.